Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Limerick back into the All-Ireland Final after win over Waterford

Limerick again into the All-Eire Remaining after winning over Waterford

#Limerick #AllIreland #Remaining #win #Waterford #limericknewswire

Limerick will contest their third All-Eire Remaining in 4 years following a 1-25 to 0-17 victory over Waterford within the semi-final at Croke Park.

John Kiely’s males had been too sturdy for Waterford all through with Aaron Gillane’s second half purpose proving essential as Limerick marched into the decider.

Limerick made a blistering begin with two factors within the opening two minutes with Cian Lynch and Seamus Flanagan earlier than Waterford opened their account by way of Kieran Bennett.

Aaron Gillane bagged Limerick’s third on 4 minutes earlier than a chic Austin Gleeson sideline introduced one between the perimeters once more.

Gillane the goal once more on 13 minutes from a positioned ball earlier than Stephen Bennett noticed Waterford lower the margin to at least one on the water break. Waterford hitting six wides to Limerick’s three.

semi-final at Croke Park.
7 August 2021; Jack Fagan of Waterford in motion towards Kyle Hayes of Limerick through the GAA Hurling All-Eire Senior Championship semi-final match between Limerick and Waterford at Croke Park in Dublin. Photograph by Seb Daly/Sportsfile

Gleeson’s second level leveled the sport at 0-Four apiece however after that Limerick took agency management by hitting six factors on the trot.

Gillane went for purpose however needed to accept some extent after a slick crew transfer. Efforts from Flanagan and Hegarty to see Limerick 0-7 to 0-Four after 22 minutes.

Flanagan hit the goal once more a few minutes later with a Gillane free following quickly after. A fantastically labored rating, completed off by Diarmuid Byrnes then noticed Limerick 0-10 to 0-Four clear with 28 minutes on the clock.

Dessie Hutchinson arrested the slide for Waterford however Peter Casey, Lynch, and Tom Morrissey responded with glorious factors that noticed Limerick’s seven factors to the great.

Stephen Bennett and Austin Gleeson free stored Waterford in contact however efforts from Will O’Donoghue and Lynch noticed Limerick 0-15 to 0-7 forward at halftime.

Tom Morrissey opened the second half scoring with a properly taken level earlier than Flanagan was at it once more with a luxurious effort from play.

Waterford stored in contact all through the second half with Stephen Bennett frees primarily however Limerick had been too good everywhere in the park. They held a 0-20 to 0-14 benefit heading into the second water break then got here the devastating blow.

Casey intercepted a sideline lower with an excellent catch earlier than offloading to Hegarty. The St Patrick’s man carried the ball ahead earlier than offloading to Gillane and he equipped the hammer end into the roof of the online.

That was the death knell for Waterford and it was Limerick that superior to the decider for a second time working on an 11-point successful margin – the identical because of the margin within the 2020 closing. The one black mark on Limerick’s efficiency was the crimson card handed out to Peter Casey within the second half and it stays to be seen if the Na Piarsaigh man will make the ultimate because of this.

semi-final at Croke Park.
7 August 2021; Cian Lynch of Limerick scores some extent after 53 seconds through the GAA Hurling All-Eire Senior Championship semi-final match between Limerick and Waterford at Croke Park in Dublin. Photograph by Ray McManus/Sportsfile

Scorers – Limerick: Aaron Gillane 1-5 (4f), Tom Morrissey 0-5, Seamus Flanagan 0-4, Diarmaid Byrnes 0-3 (2f) and Cian Lynch 0-Three every, Peter Casey 0-2, Will O’Donoghue and Darragh O’Donovan (1f) 0-1 every.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes; Will O’Donoghue, Darragh O’Donovan; Gearoid Hegarty, Cian Lynch, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Peter Casey;

Subs: David Reidy for Hegarty (65), Graham Mulcahy for Flanagan (66), Richie English for Byrnes (68), Conor Boylan for Lynch (70), Colin Coughlan for Nash (73).