Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

BREAKING: Freedom of Limerick to be bestowed on Vicky Phelan

Vicky Phelan will receive the Freedom of Limerick, according to the city’s mayor.
Following a special meeting of Limerick City and County Council held today [Tuesday, December 21], where the Mayor’s nomination was unanimously approved, the decision has been made official.
Individuals who have been awarded the Freedom of Limerick have received the highest honour that Limerick City and County Council can bestow upon them. Awarded to those who have made exceptional or unique contributions to the common good or those who have made outstanding contributions to the life of Limerick, this honour is reserved for those who have made exceptional or unique contributions to the common good.

Mayor of the City and County of Limerick, Councillor Daniel Butler, said: “Vicky is a source of inspiration for me.” In the face of her health challenges, she has and continues to do so with a drive and determination that has earned her the respect and admiration of all.”

In recognition of her work in uncovering the Cervical Check scandal, and for her unwavering support of other women who have been affected by the scandal and are fighting for justice, a fight that continues today, she has been honoured. “Her work embodies the ideals of the Freedom of Limerick in its entirety.”

After accepting the Mayor’s nomination, Vicky Phelan expressed her gratitude by saying, “I would be absolutely honoured and delighted to accept your offer of bestowing upon me the title of Freedom of Limerick for two reasons.” Two things stand out about me: first, there have only been four other women who have received this honour before me, and second, I am a very proud blow-in from Kilkenny who has made her home in Limerick for the past few years. My experience in Limerick has always been positive, even before I became a well-known public figure, and I would be overjoyed if the opportunity to return were to be extended to me.”

Prior to the amalgamation of the local authorities in Limerick in 2014, the title ‘Freeman of Limerick City’ was bestowed by the Limerick City Council, which had previously bestowed it.

In receiving the Freedom of Limerick, Vicky joins a distinguished list of recipients that includes President Michael D Higgins, Maud Gonne, Trudy Hunt, US Presidents John F Kennedy and Bill Clinton, Pope John Paul II, UL Founder Dr Ed Walsh, JP McManus, rugby legend Paul O’Connell, Bill Whelan, Pat Cox and Thomas Ryan, Terry Wogan, Det Garda Jerry McCabe (who received the award posthumously), and Det Gar

Women who have received the Freedom of Limerick include: Countess Ishbel Maria Hamilton-Gordon, Countess of Aberdeen (1984), Maud Gonne (1900), Kathleen Clarke (1918), Trudy Hunt (1997), and Maud Gonne (1900).

The ceremony will take place in the New Year, pending the approval of the Covid-19 guidelines.